Central America

Central America is the small region that links the North and South Americas. It is almost completely surrounded by sea expect for bordering Mexico at the North and Colombia to the South-east. Considered a subcontinent, Central America consists of seven countries, Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.

As a bridge between North and South America, Central America displays one of the most beautiful biodiversity in the world and is classified as part of the Mesoamerican Biodiversity hotspot, boasting 7% of the world?s flora and fauna. It packs a larger variety than any other similar-sized area on earth. There are all sorts of adventures available for every traveller, from the challenging and fulfilling to the easy and luxurious.

The Caribbean offers beautiful white sand beaches and offshore reefs, while lying not far away are the rich coffee-scented mountains of Costa Rica. You can still wander through the dense jungle to discover the ancient pyramids of the Mayans, as monkeys chatter in the treetops. Central America is truly a land of ancient wonders.

Surf regions in Central America include...

Weather in Central America

June - October
mid November - May

Central America has two distinct seasons, the wet and the dry with temperatures remaining fairly similar all year-round. The rainfall can vary significantly from nearly none at all to over 12 inches in a single month.

The wet season usually runs between June to October and the dry season from mid-November to May. Even with these foreseeable patterns, it's not unheard of to have a sudden downfall in the dry season or to have gorgeous weather in the middle of the wet season.

El Salvador

El Salvador

El Salvador in Spanish literally means the Republic of The Savior. It is the smallest and the most densely populated country in Central America. In the surfing world, El Salvador is considered to be the land of the rights. The whole coastline is dotted with sand and rock bottom point breaks.

Back to top